Saturday, June 3, 2023
Home Deals Netflix Password-Sharing Ban: How to Transfer Your Profile Before It's Too Late...

Netflix Password-Sharing Ban: How to Transfer Your Profile Before It’s Too Late – CNET

Netflix is finally cracking down on password sharing in the US, after announcing the controversial move late last year. 

You can still share your Netflix password, but if you do it with anyone outside of your household, you’ll need to pay extra. The password-sharing fee is $8 per month per person in the US, on top of whatever you already pay for your Netflix plan. Users on the standard plan can add one person outside of their household, while premium users can add up to two.

You do have the option to not pay these password-sharing fees, but then your friends or family won’t be able to access their profiles on your account.

If you currently have a profile on someone else’s account, and you’re not expecting them to pony up the extra money to maintain your profile, you can transfer it over to a new account, that you’ll need to pay for, so that you can keep your recommendations, save lists and other settings.

In this guide, we’ll show you how to find and enable Netflix’s Transfer Profile feature on your profile, and how to transfer your existing profile to a separate account.

While you’re here, check out the best live TV streaming services of 2023 and the best TVs of this year.

If you have an older television that doesn’t have built-in applications like Hulu, Disney Plus or Netflix, the Fire TV Stick makes it easy and inexpensive to upgrade to a smart TV. The streaming dongle even comes with the Alexa Voice Remote, so you can use your voice to search for and play movies and TV shows across apps.

First you need to enable the Profile Transfer feature on Netflix

Before you can transfer your Netflix profile to a new account, you must enable the feature. You can do this on both the web and your mobile device (phone or tablet).

If you’re on a computer, go to the web browser of your choice, access the Netflix website and go into the profile that you want to transfer. Next, hover your cursor over your profile icon in the top right and click Transfer Profile in the dropdown menu. On the next page, click the Allow button.

The Profile Transfer feature will be available for two years after you enable it.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

If you’re using a phone or tablet, open the official Netflix application, go into your profile and then tap your profile icon in the top-right corner to access your account settings. Next, tap Account, scroll down to the bottom of the page, and tap Turn on profile transfers. This will redirect you to the official profile transfer page, where you can then hit the Allow button.

You should then get a notification saying that profile transfers will soon be coming to your account. For my account, it said I would get the feature in two days. However, it also said I could enable the profile transfer feature instantly if I clicked the confirmation link sent to me via email, which I did.

Now you can transfer your profile to a new Netflix account

Once the Transfer Profile is enabled, you can transfer your profile to your own new Netflix account. To transfer a profile, log into your original Netflix account (web or mobile) and go into the Transfer Profile page found in your settings. You should then see the start of the Transfer Profile process, which will give you a brief summary of what the feature does:

  • Transfers over your recommendations, viewing history, saved games, settings, My List and more to a separate account
  • Creates a backup of your profile on the original account

A backup copy will be created on the original account, but that does not include any saved games.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Begin the process by hitting the Next button — you’ll then be asked to enter the credentials for your new account. Verify your email and then follow the prompts you see on the screen to finish setting up your new account. Once this is finished, your profile will be transferred and you’ll have instant access to your new Netflix account.

The owner of the original account will be notified once the process is complete.

Also, if for any reason you get logged out while attempting to transfer, you can continue the process by logging back in and using the Finish Transfer setting.

Check out the best TV shows to currently watch on Netflix, as well as the secret hack you need to get better Netflix recommendations.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

How to vote in the Alberta election

Albertans have many options when it comes to how they cast their vote.Voters may choose between advance polls, special ballot and voting on election...

This sex toy makes my life so much more pleasurable – not just in the obvious way

I was first introduced to sex toys when I was a teenager. It was my 16th birthday and two of my male friends thought it...

‘They’re afraid their AIs will come for them’: Doug Rushkoff on why tech billionaires are in escape mode

Interview‘They’re afraid their AIs will come for them’: Doug Rushkoff on why tech billionaires are in escape modeEdward HelmoreThe leading intellect on digital...

Meet Samsung’s man on a mission to help the world sleep better

Good sleep and good health are closely linked (Picture: Getty/iStockphoto)It’s fair to say there weren’t many positives to come out of the pandemic, but...